RSS Feed

Skin-Loves

I just have to share a new love with you (unless you are someone I know in real life, in which case, do not read the post below or you will spoil the surprise for your next birthday present):

Homemade Body Scrubs

Image

Have you ever made one? They are the simplest things ever. Extremely frugal to make yourself. And I am telling you, you will step out of the shower feeling like a new woman. Incidentally, you know the story of Esther  from the Bible? When reading that Bible story, is anyone else completely distracted by the fact that when Esther was forced into the king’s harem, she was subjected (subjected, mind you) to 12 full months of beauty treatments? Well, I’m pretty convinced that a body scrub was probably among those treatments of hers because I feel like I just underwent 12 months of beauty treatments after using one!

Okay, so go look in your pantry and fridge. You need 3 things.

Brown Sugar.

Lemon juice (the real stuff, freshly squeezed).

Olive Oil.

That’s it, friends. If you don’t have a lemon, have your hubby pick one up on his way home from work, because you’re going to want to make this scrub before your next shower. If he protests, tell him it’ll be worth the stop.

I found the original Sea Salt recipe here, but I feel like sea salt is somewhat drying on my skin and prefer to use brown sugar. But it’s your preference and you get to choose what you make! :)

So here’s my favorite recipe so far:

~7-8 Tbs. of brown sugar (more or less to achieve your desired consistency)

~the juice of 1 lemon

~1 Tbs. of olive oil (I use EVOO)

Mix. Scrub all over your body in the shower (or on your hands after gardening or doing the dishes!). Step out of the shower very carefully. Sprinkle Comet or Barkeeper’s Friend on your shower floor so the next showeree doesn’t slip. :)

Or, if you have a few herbs in your garden, you could make this sea salt scrub. I happen to have some lemon balm and lavender in my garden, so I tried this one without the lavender oil (because I didn’t have it on hand). I definitely liked it, although, I would definitely use some lavender essential oil next time, to give it more of a fragrance.

Image

 Then, my other new-found love is this:

  Whipped Coconut Oil Body Butter.

Yes, next time you are at Walmart, buy a jar of Coconut Oil and click on the above link and make this. You need one ingredient and it’s cheaper than a bottle of store-bought lotion!

Last week, I made a couple of scrubs and the Whipped Coconut Oil for my sister-in-law for her birthday. I kept getting the oil all over my hands and rather than washing it off, I’d simply rub it into my arms and lower legs. I practically melted onto my bedsheets that night. :) This stuff is amazing! The trick is, to apply it while your skin is still damp . . . that way, it absorbs better and isn’t quite so greasy.

So have fun, girlfriends! Oh, and when your hubbies comment on how soft and silky your skin is, you can tell them to thank me. ;) Oh yeah, and God, since He’s the one who made all of the ingredients. How cool is that???

Image

2 responses »

  1. Ok, I was ALSO thinking about that whipped coconut oil recipe all day, too! Thanks for posting it! I’m going to go try it……

  2. Oh, my gracious. Totally sharing this post with my daughter…and pinning it :-).

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 28 other followers

