RSS Feed

Hearts, be still

“So they hurried off and found Mary and Joseph, and the baby, who was lying in the manger. When they had seen him, they spread the word concerning what had been told them about this child,  and all who heard it were amazed at what the shepherds said to them. But Mary treasured up all these things and pondered them in her heart. The shepherds returned, glorifying and praising God for all the things they had heard and seen, which were just as they had been told.”

 

It stood in the very front of the store. Just resting. Hurried shoppers all raced by, hardly giving it a glance, and I did too. My girls and I, we trekked up and down the aisles full of glitter, artificial evergreen and “50% off “sale signs. I paid for our things, bundled the girls’ coats, and walked through the automatic doors to head out to the car. And then I stopped. There was a creche, nearly as big as life.

 

“Come, look!” I called to my oldest as she was running toward the last set of doors before the parking lot. We had almost missed it.

 

For maybe all of thirty seconds, we stood still and thirstily took in the scene before us. The wise men, oxen, and Mary kneeling over the Manger-boy . . . they were all there. It took my breath away. Oh, let me remain here.

 

Dear sisters, in the midst of a North American Christmas season, in the hustle and bustle of shopping and baking and partying, may we be like Mary in all the flurry of Jesus’ birth. In the midst of the hurrying shepherds, the rejoicing angels and resplendent wise men, she pondered. Let our hearts be as still.

2 responses »

  1. I just found this yesterday and I am so blessed through you. God has given you such gifts!

  2. Hi!
    Thanks for your comment the other day – I visited your blog (love the theme you chose for it 🙂 ). I read through all your posts – you are a wonderful writer and I love the way you share about your girls.
    As long as you are posting, I will be reading! I don’t follow many blogs (only two), but I’d love to add you to the list and make it three!
    Blessings,
    Anna

Leave a Reply

