RSS Feed

Wake up!

I am drowning in my own laziness here. The house needs scrubbed and I have a first birthday party this weekend to shop and cook for, but I’m much more easily satiated in blogging, surfing, piddling around the house and shopping for Christmas. I think it’s my own form of soap operas and bon-bons. Not a pretty picture.

 

Why is a virtual world so much more  alluring than our real-life, honest-to-goodness homes and families? Or maybe I’m the only one who struggles with this?

 

The preacher on Sunday said something to this effect, although, not word for word:

 

“Idols never fulfill or give us all we need or want, but they do put our souls to sleep. We go back again and again to   hush up all we’re suppressing.”

 

Powerful words to this slumbering soul.  My children and my home need me and the alarm clock is sounding.

One response »

  1. Ouch. Good good words. I love your pastor’s quote. So true.

Leave a Reply

