RSS Feed

Tucked in the Cleft

I have hinted in previous posts about our family’s current state of limbo. I am not trying to be vague, but rather, quiet, as we seek the Lord for our lives, in basically, every aspect of our lives. We sense Him leading, calling us out of something, to something, but we don’t know where, or how, or what.

 

I’m sure you’ve been there too? Personally, I feel a bit like we’re treading water in the middle of a huge lake and can’t see what direction to swim because of the dense, dark fog. For all we know, we could be right next to the shoreline and not even know it. It feels like He is purposefully keeping us in the middle of the lake. Right now? He’s apparently calling us to wait. And I know He can be trusted and that He has a plan, but honestly, I’m ready for the fog to lift, or a confirmed direction to begin some progressive strokes.

 

I needed to hear these words again today, which I heard here at (in)courage (by Ann Voskamp):

 

Is that it? When it gets dark, it’s only because God has tucked me in the cleft of the rock and covered me, protected, with His hand? In the pitch, I feel like I’m falling, sense the bridge giving way, God long absent…. But maybe this is true reality: It is in the dark that God is passing by…. Dark is the holiest ground, the glory passing by. In the blackest, God is closest, at work, forging His perfect and right will. Though it is black and we can’t see and our world seems to be free-falling and we feel utterly alone, Christ is most present to us, I-beam supporting in earthquake. Then He will remove His hand. Then we will look.

Then we look back and see His back.


 

 

Oh, I needed these words today. Because isn’t this just what I asked of Him? That He would not send us somewhere that He has not already gone before?

 

May we be in His shadow.

Like Moses,

I want to see His back.

2 responses »

  1. I was JUST saying at lunch today that I feel like I’m in a similar season. Thankfully, I feel protected and cared for… but there are definitely moments of frustration. To me it seems like he’s completely blinding me to what the future holds in the hope that I will trust him COMPLETELY to work out the details. This isn’t the first time in my life I’ve experienced this, but it’s the first time it’s felt loving.

    All that to say, those words were comforting to me too – both Voskamp’s & YOURS. Your image was so perfect. Thank you for sharing and setting a beautiful example of what it looks like to wait with patient anticipation on a loving father.

  2. I’m sorry you’re left in the dark, but I’m SO HAPPY you feel His love in the midst of it! What a gift this time around! I’ll be praying for you . . . I’m sure I’ll think of you often, seeing as how we’re sort of in a similar place. 🙂

Leave a Reply

