RSS Feed

Let Me Be Little

Typical Mommy days here lately. Playdates and baths. Preparing food and pushing little bodies on swings. Spring is here in full force and we are loving it. The sandals are being worn, the sandbox is being played in. Winter is fun in its own right and I love the scarves and the warm sweaters, but give me flip-flops and a tank top any day!

 

But just the typical mommy days are being lived here. Probably the same ones many of you live. The cooking meals. The cleaning, cleaning, cleaning. The “Oh, I’m so sorry, I meant to wash that shirt for you yesterday!” The reading books, the brushing teeth, the changing diapers, the planning meals, the fitting in naps, the tending to little hearts, the continual setting aside of good conversation, waiting for a quiet moment to run to the restroom, the putting the computer to sleep to turn your face to a child asking for help.

 

It’s not easy work, is it?

 

Some days it’s mundane.

 

Sometimes, it feels impossible.

 

Some days, it feels like my role doesn’t even matter.

 

Some mornings, I don’t even want to get out of bed.

 

But I wouldn’t have it any other way.

 

Because I also have the privilege of tucking little souls to sleep each night. And sitting on the couch in the middle of the day just to read a book with little ones tucked in my lap. I get to hear their funny little sayings and watch their sibling relationship develop. I get to match clean, little baby socks and wrestle little arms into sleeper pajamas. I get to play games and be silly to my heart’s content and am loved more for it. I get to sing songs at the top of my lungs and little children giggle and join right in. I get to pour cups of water again and again and again and fill little bellies and teach new words. I get to sit on the floor and color whenever I want and play hide and seek and wiggle my toes in the sandbox and quote little kid movies.

 

Something tells me, that this is the best job in the world.

 

But they’re only little once.

 

Let me be little with them.

4 responses »

  1. Hi Audra!
    I love this post – it’s so true – to be little with them. My boys are growing so fast, but still little enough to be silly and crazy and filled with wonder… I love being little with them, but when we’re adults, it seems like we have to choose it, eh? It doesn’t just come naturally like it does with the children… I think the more we choose it, the more natural it becomes once again.
    I LOVE singing at the top of my lungs or dancing around the kitchen, and I LOVE having little men to do that with me!
    Off to pick them up from school…. snow still abounds here, CAN’T WAIT for tank tops and sandals – another couple of months for me! But I AM going on a missions trip next month – my first one – to Dominican – THEN I can wear tank tops and sandals! Now to find them amongst the big winter boots and jackets… eek.

  2. My life described here! Knowing you are a gratitude sister, I gotta say it has really helped me to see that it IS the best job in the world. I will never regret the time given to them, only the times I fail to enjoy it.

  3. Yes, yes. Learning to be grateful for the seeming mundane brings in the beauty. And I love your last sentence. Yes, *that* is my highest regret, already. I want to stop that, right here and now, before it’s too late!

  4. Okay, something has been wrong with WordPress today! I was in the process of replying to your comments when it flickered.

    Anyway, yes, Anna! I know *I* definitely have to choose to be little with them as it does not come naturally to me. I don’t choose it as often as I’d like, but I’d really like to change that….

    I’m so excited about your trip! I can’t wait to hear all about it . . . I’ll be praying!

Leave a Reply

