RSS Feed

Sunshine

We are living in a fog today. And no, I’m not speaking of my usual metaphorical fogs! =D I’m talking about days and days of living in a wet, rainy cloud. You see, when you live on a mountain in the southern United States, you experience weeks’ worth of dense fog during the colder months of the year. The “I-think-I-need-another-cup-of-coffee” kind of fog. The “I-can’t-see-10-feet-in-front-of-me, would-you-kindly-turn-your-fog-lights-on, are-you-crazy-walking-alongside-the-road-like-that-oh-black-jacket-wearer?!”, and “if-I-don’t-see-some-sunshine-soon, I’m-just-going-to-turn-to-mush” kind of fog.

 

I’m a little bit more affected by the weather than I care to admit. (-sheepish grin-)

 

In highschool, my best friend and I dubbed the Mountain fog, “romantic mist”. Β Ah, yes, sweet, innocent girlishness.

Please excuse the trash can hiding behind the bush. I was too lazy to go move it simply for a picture!

 

Because now I live on this mountain and this “romantic mist” drives me to decorate windows and leave them just-so for months on end:

 

 

Or set out fruit like this and literally try to drink in liquid sunshine:

 

 

Yes, it’s getting pretty bad over here.

 

Firefly asks me, “Mama, why isn’t the sun coming out?”

 

I chuckle at how her little questions mimic my grumbling heart sometimes. She’s sometimes like a mirror, that child of mine.

 

I speak to both of usΒ that which I know to be true.

 

“The sun is out, sweetie. We just can’t see it because the clouds are flying all around us. It’s still there and it’ll shine again soon.”

 

And my metaphorical fogs (of course, I couldn’t *not* write of them) are no different. The clouds are sometimes dense and I wonder if He’s leading and I wonder why He doesn’t “show up” a bit more clearly or when I’d like Him to. What’s that quote? Something about how when we wonder where He is, it is then that He is carrying us?

 

Not led. No immediate fog-lifting miracles. Carried right through the split of the clouds.

 

And you know, they say the clouds are what will carry Him back to us.

 

 

Yes, I get to live in a cloud.

13 responses »

  1. Oh, I so love this (do you ever tire of me saying that?)! *And* in the same beautiful spirit of your post, there is the whole image in Exodus 13 about God being in a pillar of cloud to guide them on their way.

  2. By the way, I like the design changes you’ve made. Just lovely!

  3. Whew! No fog but clouds and cold weather here, too. I lov the sunshine window decoration. I think I need one!
    Good thing March is out the door and on to April!!

  4. Oh, I hadn’t thought of that image! I love it! Thanks for the reminder. πŸ™‚

  5. Thank you, Miss Beth. πŸ™‚ Leave it to good, ol’ WordPress! =D

  6. It’s always harder when you have a taste of spring and then it goes back into hiding for a bit, isn’t it? But true spring is just around the corner!!!! =D

  7. All the gray makes me sleepy!! That’s right, down here in the valley it’s just gray and dreary. I think fog might make it a bit more romantic for a time… But I, like you, am ready for some sunshine. Thanks for pointing out a bright theological truth in the midst of all the gray.
    I kinda love your window decoration. Would it be weird for a childless woman to have something like that in her house??

  8. Are you kidding?! No way . . . I think *everyone* should have a sunshine smile to hang up every once and awhile! I’d love to find a stained glass sun one of these days! =D
    No, you should definitely go for it. πŸ˜‰

  9. Ah, I *knew* there would be a metaphorical cloud in there somewhere! I was also reminded of the image from Exodus. And also how Moses went up into the cloud on the mountain to meet with God. Somehow makes our sweet southern mountain fogs a little … sweeter. πŸ™‚

    I love the sunshine smile! And I love foggy mountain days–romantic mist, indeed. πŸ™‚

  10. Nina, I just love you. πŸ™‚

  11. Hey! πŸ™‚
    I like the changes being made around here…

    I stopped by just to tell you that I am going to be attending The She Speaks conference this July and wanted to make sure you’d heard of it. If you decide to attend, please let me know so we can meet up!

    Love, Everly
    http://shespeaksconference.com/

  12. Everly! I’m so glad you’re going! Unfortunately, I’m not planning on going, but I would have *loved* to meet up with you! I hope you have a wonderful time . . . you’ll have to do a synopsis for us. πŸ˜‰

  13. Pingback: It Came « life in limits

Leave a Reply

