RSS Feed

Falling

Sometimes, obedience has no clear explanation. Sometimes you have to put a toe in the water before the seas split in two. Sometimes, you have to quietly serve a God you don’t understand and fiercely cling to His long-spoken promises for your own dear life. Sometimes, you have to stop looking for the guideposts, the providential signs along the way, and you just have to learn to trust the Guide Himself. And sometimes, you just have to fall into the unknown, hoping and praying that that is where He’s there . . . waiting for you.

Mystery

By Sara Groves

I see my faith before me
It’s always there before me
And I can no more own it
Than I can own the road that I am on.

I don’t know where it leads me
I don’t know where it leads me
Peace and resurrection
Suffering and dejection
I don’t know.

And my body’s tired
From trying to bring you here.
And my brow is furrowed
Trying to see things clear.

So I’ll turn my back to the black
And fall
And wait for the mystery
To rise up and meet me.

There are as many takers
As there are hearts to take it.
There are so many fakers
I myself have faked it, I should know.

Sometimes this has left me
Groping in the darkness
Hoping in the darkness
I will run into you again.

And my body’s tired
From trying to bring you here.
And my brow is furrowed
Trying to see things clear.

So I’ll turn my back to the black
And fall
And wait for the mystery
To rise up and meet me.

And my body’s tired
From trying to bring you here.
And my brow is furrowed
Trying to see this clear.

So I’ll turn my back to the black
And fall
Pray for the mystery
To rise up and meet me.

Wait for the mystery
To rise up and lead me home.

6 responses »

  1. Thank you for this post… apparently this is something I really need to hear right now because it was the gist of this Sunday’s message too.

    {ps. Sara Groves is playing a show at Calvary really soon…}

  2. http://usplusfour.blogspot.com/

    Have you read this blog? Next to you (smile), she’s one of my favorites! Hope you have a delightful week.

  3. Molly, I’ll have to go find the message online! I hope we both truly “hear” whatever it is He’s trying to teach us. And yes, I will be there “really soon!” 🙂

  4. Alisa, thanks for the link – I will definitely check it out! You are too sweet and I hope your week is wonderful as well. 🙂

  5. Love this line: Sometimes you have to put a toe in the water before the seas split in two.
    And I think that’s where I’m at, too. Sara Groves, bless her! I also like Ann’s picture of eating the mystery-manna. We need these pictures of providence in the foggy times, no? Bless you!

  6. Thank you, Ashley. 🙂 I’m not quite remembering the mystery-manna picture, but I’m sure it’s good! 🙂

Leave a Reply

