RSS Feed

Music Love

So, if you frequent this little piece of the blog-o-sphere much, you know that I’m a bit of a music lover. Last night I was able to go to one of my favorite Christian singer’s concerts here in Chatty. You know I love her. Sara Groves. Her music is so very simplistic and on first listen, her lyrics sometimes appear so as well, but with each turn of the CD, her words tend to bloom petal by petal until you find your arms full with a beautiful bouquet. I always come away from her concerts with a heart full.

Last night, was an especially amazing concert though, because I was introduced to three more musicians and I pretty much fell in love with them. 🙂 Now some of you may think upon hearing their names that I must live under a rock and how could I have not heard of these artists before???  But I have to admit that as a whole, I’m not completely in love with most CCM, but there are very few artists that I always love to come home to. Anyway, the first act was actually a couple who, on first glance, instantly reminded me of this long ago couple:

Photo courtesy of the amazing Wikipedia

Again - Wikipedia is so helpful!

Remember them? I sort of gave up on The Office awhile back, but do you remember these two? Yeah, well I saw them on stage last night. Well, not really ;), but Jenny and Tyler were on stage and they were just too adorable for words.

Not only are they a cute, young, married couple who are obviously amazed at this life of music they’re living, but they are extremely talented, a delight to watch and they totally made me want to buy one of their CD’s. 🙂 Which is really saying something for me. 🙂 If I remember correctly, they took turns playing the guitar and mandolin and Jenny also pedaled a tambourine while Tyler pedaled a drum that was in a suitcase disguise. 🙂

Then out came Audrey Assad. Loved her in a totally different way. Her voice croons. She likes to belt it. She’s sort of bluesy. Sort of . . . hmmm . . . vintage? I think what I loved most about her was how her melodies are not limited to anything expected and the keyboard appears to be an effortless addition for her. She just seems effortless herself. Little makeup,if any, simple sixties-type hair style and her singing just seems to well up out of her.

And now as  a certain four-year-old girl has just climbed up into my lap and is telling jokes, my editing is  . . . ummm . . . half-hearted, so I will stop there. Enjoy!!!!

2 responses »

  1. Ahhh… I love music recommendations! Thank you!

  2. How is it that I could have guessed we share tastes in music?

Leave a Reply

