RSS Feed

Isaiah in the Afternoon

My mind wakes up earlier than my body this morning. My eyes flutter to sunlight just beginning to creep in through the curtains, but my body and soul feel like surely the moon must still be rising. I ignore the sun. I roll out of bed late and the children wake up early. It’s only 7:00 and I can already tell, this day will be a long one.

And whatever happened to yesterday? No, I didn’t get to the garden this morning, and I seem to be a bit of a tornado of anger and frustration. Yes, the hubby does need our one car when friends invite us to go out, and yes, I am behind on the laundry (desperately) and how did all those texts and voicemails and emails get away from me? The kids are whiney and the littlest one falls hard on the back of her head (again) on the hot pavement and I am the one sick to my stomach over it, worried and wondering if she’ll still have brain cells by the time she’s 3. Computer programs don’t work and there are a certain five-year-old’s tears that last waaaaaaay too long.

It’s 10:30 a.m. and could someone just get this day over with, please? But really all I want is just to be left alone for a bit. No one needing anything of me or wanting me or calling for me. I just want to be saved . . . to escape.

Yes, you can walk in the garden for bouts of time, but there are days when only one thing can still. Fill.

Image

Yes, please.

Sometimes you need more than just to enjoy His presence. Sometimes you need to hear His voice.

“You are my witnesses,” declares the Lord,

And my Servant whom I have chosen,

So that you may know and believe Me

and understand that I am He….

I, even I am the Lord, 

And there is no savior besides Me.

Isaiah 43: 10a, 11

So, I get a load of laundry going.

The rest can wait.

Because I need to be nourished and I need to believe that He can begin this day and heart anew at 3 p.m.

Do not call to mind the former things,

Or ponder things of the past. 

Behold, I will do something new,

Now it will spring forth….

Because I have given waters in the wilderness

And rivers in the desert,

To give drink to my chosen people.

The people whom I formed for Myself

Will declare My praise.

 Isaiah 43:19,21

The dryer stops.

And it’s a fresh afternoon.

7 responses »

  1. Thank you for this reminder. 🙂

  2. I seriously cannot tell you how much this is my life right now, waking up in the morning just wanting it to be bedtime already. Lord, give me a new 3:00 heart, too! (I love that little windowed corner!)

  3. Sweet, Beth. Praying for the sustaining grace to come and be with you, these next few months, especially. You are such an inspiration to me!!!!

  4. Oh how I love Isaiah. You’ve convinced me to skip a little bit ahead of the “planned reading” and really dig in there tomorrow. So, thank you.

  5. I am sorry that we couldn’t meet up. We missed you. Maybe next time? We’re going blueberry picking on Friday morning, btw. We’re headed out there early and could probably meet somewhere to car pool if you’re interested. Let me know.

  6. Um… can I please just step into that picture right now? SO often I just want to escape, but if I actually make it happen, I’m just lonely. It’s true, only one thing can fill. Blessings friend!

Leave a Reply

